Friday, June 6, 2014

FIRST LINES FRIDAY-- First one:)

I am a huge fan of a fabulous first line. It truly sets the tone of your book and let's me know I am in for a great ride.

I often tell writers to read the first line, first paragraph, first chapter of books, tons of books...just the first....to see how those firsts effect them.

Then, go create a unique, enticing beginning.

First line from I'M NOT HER by Janet Gurlter, Sourcebooks Fire.
No matter how much I don't want to care, it's not easy being stranded all alone in the middle of a crowded room, like the ugliest dog at the animal shelter.


and first paragraph...

No matter how much I don't want to care, it's not easy being stranded all alone in the middle of a crowded room, like the ugliest dog at the animal shelter. Kristina shoved me into her shiny red Toyota like she's my fairy godmother, insisting I do the party "for my own good." But other than a few heys and disinterested stares, no one notices that I'm here. Before long, even Kristina forgets about me. Swept up by her friends and admirers, Kristina leaves me bathing in my own flops sweat.


I signed Janet Gurtler based on the first 50 pages of I'M NOT HER. There were no other pages back then but I knew Janet had a unique voice and a command of character. I wasn't wrong. Janet has gone on to selling 7 Contemporary YAs to Sourcebooks Fire.

Praise for I'M NOT HER
"Rich in characterization, Gurtler's novel wrestles with some serious issues and explores different means of coping (or escaping) yet manages not to be overwhelming or bleak. Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult, this is a strong debut that attempts to answer the question, What does it really mean to live?" - Booklist

Check out Janet and all her books at her website: http://www.janet-gurtler.com/books.html





Need help with your story? 
  • Looking for tips to prop up your middle with excitement? 
  • Wish you understood how to show don't tell what your character is feeling? 
  • Are even you sometimes bored with your own story?
  • Long to form your concept into words? 
We can help you with all of that and so much more! View your story in an entirely new light. Recharge your energy and enthusiasm for your writing.


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

join the mailing list

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner