Tuesday, September 27, 2011

JANET GURTLER'S IF I TELL AND I'M NOT HER GARNERING AMAZING REVIEWS!

RT Book Reviews gives If I Tell by Janet Gurtler a great review saying “Gurtler handles complex issues of race, identity, friendship and fidelity with laugh-out-loud humor and engaging frankness. once you’re in you won’t regret it…”

“Square peg, round hole. That’s how Jaz has felt as far back as she can remember. Being the daughter of a black father and a white mother, her classmates singled her out as “different” from day one, and it stuck. Now her mother is engaged and pregnant, and Jaz would be happy for her if not for the terrible secret she knows about her soon-to-be stepfather. Because of this, Jaz isolates herself from her family and friends, turning to her music for answers and comfort. She finds both in Jackson, a new guy who may be the only one who has ever understood her. Gurtler unabashedly tackles several sensitive topics without sacrificing the story line and constructs a beautiful paradox by making the burden of carrying a secret the factor that enables Jaz to face her outcast fear. This novel also addresses the pressure students feel to fit in and encourages them to stay true to themselves. Sometimes we just need to hear that it’s OK to be different.” – Booklist
I'm Not Her also got a great review from RT Book Reviews back in July, where they called Janet's writing "reminiscent of Judy Blume." Booklist said, "Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult." Check out the rest of the great things people are saying about Janet here.
AND if you visit the Barnes & Noble Must Read For Teens page, you'll see I'm Not Her yet again! Janet Gurtler is keeping some auspicious company and it is well deserved.




“Cute and quirky, with sentimentality reminiscent of Judy Blume, this is a book for the keeper shelf — one that readers will devour again and again!”
RT Book Reviews, 4.5 stars
“Rich in characterization, Gurtler’s novel wrestles with some serious issues and explores different means of coping (or escaping) yet manages not to be overwhelming or bleak. Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult, this is a strong debut...”
Booklist.

"...subtle, believable, and satisfying. The author seamlessly develops complexity in all of the characters... This quick and
heartbreaking read realistically shows how one person’s illness affects an entire community.” “...a story that is nothing but completely real, giving you an honest look at the life of a teenage girl... [you] will find
yourself inspired.”
Girl’s Life
"Gurtler's writing unfurls with the exquisite grace of a flower. Readers will cheer Tess' triumphant awakening as she blooms in the shade of insecurity, family tragedy, and sibling rivalry to discover a strength and beauty all her own."
Sarah Ockler, bestselling author of Fixing Delilah and Twenty Boy Summer
“This is one gripping, heartfelt story about sisters and the bond that holds them together... I highly recommend this book. Have a tissue box close at hand!”
—School Library Journal
 “...will both make you smile and break your heart... I couldn't put it down. Sad. Powerful. Touching. This is a great contemporary young adult novel and I hope that many young readers pick it up.”
Rex Robot Reviews 

 “The strength of sisterhood speaks volumes... a great story about love, loss and the lengths one will go to when facing
death.” 
The Page Turners

“...a really powerful and emotional story, about love, family and discovering who you are.” 
 BLKosiner’s Book Blog
“I’d also recommend this book to fans of Deb Caletti, Sarah Okler and Gayle Friessen (If I Stay). Tess is a strong, funny character who teens will related to and cheer for, just like the heroines in these other books. And voice? It's there...in spades.”
Just Deb
“I devoured it...this story isn't about the girl in the spotlight. It's about the girl in the shadows, the one who's forced to find her way into the light to keep her family from totally self-desctructing. As much as it brought me to tears, I loved watching Tess struggle with her own questions, doubt, frustrations with her parents and their inability to accept and deal with this tragedy, the equal parts love/resentment/fear she feels toward her sister, and her tenuous but unwanted place in the spotlight at school. I'M NOT HER is, quite simply, a downright real story.
The Contemps 

 “This book was beautiful - almost poetic in a way. I would definitely recommend it - especially to fans of Sarah Ockler
and Gail Forman.”
I Like These Books
“Tackling difficult material like cancer, the bonds of sisterhood and family and testing the waters of coming-of-age, it's written to push the envelope past normal into something more meaningful... I'd recommend it to fans of YA who especially enjoy contemporary fiction.”
i swim for oceans  

“...a powerful, emotional story...a book everyone can relate to, regardless of whether they've had similar experiences.”
My Words Ate Me
“Whew... so heartbreaking, but realistic. It was a beautifully written story... I felt so many emotions while reading, it was hard to keep track. One moment I was devastated for Kristina, the next moment I was in shock for Tess... then excited for Tess. Great characterization and just a great story.”
The Story Siren
“This is quite an emotionally riveting debut novel and I have no doubt it will resonate deeply with readers... Cancer is at the heart of this novel, it is the catalyst around which everything revolves, but it is not a book about cancer. It is a book about surviving. It is a book about family. It is a book about life and death, faith and hope. This is a wonderful book that readers of all ages will take to heart.”
Bookfinds

2 comments:

  1. EEK! What a lovely post!
    Thank you so much Jill. You are a rock star agent and I cherish you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds awesome! Can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

join the mailing list

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner