Thursday, June 9, 2011

RAVE REVIEWS FOR I'M NOT HER including BOOKLIST:)

BOOKLIST REVIEW of I'M NOT HER
 Rich in characterization, Gurtler’s novel wrestles with some serious issues and explores different means of coping (or escaping) yet manages not to be overwhelming or bleak. Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult, this is a strong debut that attempts to answer the question, What does it really mean to live?


Teenreads.com – Beach Bag Contest
I’m Not Her is one of 16 books and assorted other goodies in the teenreads.com contest. The contest runs May 17th through July 18th.

Romance Times Book Reviews
I’m Not Her has a wide range of real-life, flawed characters, because of this, most readers will be able to identify closely with one or more of the characters. In this tale Gurtler balances humor and tragedy beautifully and the plot moves along quickly, yet smoothly. Cute and quirky, with sentimentality reminiscent of Judy Blume, this is a book for the keeper shelf — one that readers will devour again and again!





M Girls Hot Summer Reads...   a list of the top 5 must-reads this summer

I'M NOT HER was featured in: 

·         The Chicago Tribune Summer Reading Roundup 
·         Arizona Parenting Magazine review 
·         Campus Circle Summer Reading Roundup 
·         The News-Journal Summer Reading Roundup 
·         The Magazine, May/June 2011

Full BOOKLIST review: Tess is definitely not like her older sister,Kristina. Tess is shy, socially awkward, and an aspiring artist; Kristina is a popular and beautiful volleyball player. But when Kristina is diagnosed with an aggressive form of bone cancer, Tess finds herself attracting a lot of attention—from the populars, even from some cute boys. She puts up a front, but the reality is that Kristina is very sick and could lose her leg. Tess really doesn’t know how to talk to Kristina—or their parents—about how she feels and what she fears. The only one who seems to know how to relate to Kristina is Jeremy, whose own mother is battling breast cancer. Rich in characterization, Gurtler’s novel wrestles with some serious issues and explores different means of coping (or escaping) yet manages not to be overwhelming or bleak. Just right for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jodi Picoult, this is a strong debut that attempts to answer the question, What does it really mean to live?

No comments:

Post a Comment

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

join the mailing list

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner